• Bangladesh: +88 02 9860526

  • India: +91 95954 43243 Ext 1

  • United Kingdom: +44 114 272 5444

Start Your Application

Course start dates:
January, September

English, Foundation, Undergraduate, Postgraduate, PhD

IELTS start from overall 4.0 (minimum 3.5 in all component)

Sunderland University

The University of Sunderland is a university located in Sunderland in the North East of England.

Sunderland has been an important centre for education since 674 AD, when Benedict Biscop built St. Peter's Church and monastery. St. Peter's Church was the site of the greatest scriptorium north of the Alps. The oldest existing Latin version of the Bible – the Codex Amiatinus – was written at St Peter's Church. This area has been developed as the Sir Tom Cowie Campus at St Peter's of the University of Sunderland. The University's £9m state-of-the-art Media Centre, launched in 2004, is near St. Peter's Church. In

The university's modern roots can be traced back to 1901, when Sunderland Technical College was established as a municipal training college. It was the first to offer sandwich courses.

In 26 January 1969, established Sunderland Polytechnic  incorporating the Technical College, the School of Art (which was also established in 1901) and the Sunderland Teacher Training College (established in 1908). After the passage of the Further and Higher Education Act 1992, the polytechnic gained university status. The university was recognized by The Guardian as England's best new university in 2001. In 2005 it was named by The Times Higher Education Supplement as the top university in England for providing the best student experience. Lord Puttnam became the university's first Chancellor in 1998. The Sunderland Empire Theatre was the regular venue for the graduation ceremonies, although they have been hosted at the Stadium of Light since 2004. In July 2007, he stepped down to become the Chancellor of the Open University. On 23 May 2008 the University announced that former Olympic athlete Steve Cram had been appointed as Chancellor and would be officially installed at a ceremony on 27 June 2008.

According to The Guardian League Tables 2015, the University of Sunderland was ranked 77th out of 116. The University of Sunderland was shortlisted for University of the Year by the Times Higher Education Awards in 2012. It was also named Best new university in the North East by the Guardian University Guide 2012.

The University has four academic faculties, responsible for teaching and learning, academic development and research, and working with partners in business and industry.

The University of Sunderland Students' Union is headed by five sabbatical officers who run the Union and are elected into the roles by their peers for a period of one year. The current officer positions are President, Vice President, Education and Welfare Officer, Sports and Activities Officer and Entertainments and Media Officer. They are augmented by five lay Trustees to make up the Trustee Board. The Students' Union is responsible for providing events, offering support and advice, fundraising and supporting campaigns and being the 'voice' of the student body. The Students' Union currently has two bars, one being The Bonded Warehouse, located near the Panns bank and Scotia Quay halls of residence, and North Shore (formerly Manor Quay/Campus) located on the St. Peters campus. Both venues offer cheap food and drinks, and have a variety of theme nights throughout the course of the academic year. North Shore is a brand new 'Student Hub' for the academic year 2010/11 and encases a green centre, bar & grill, theatre and nightclub. The student union magazine is called DN (Degrees North) magazine and student/community centred radio station Spark FM, part of the wider Spark Media Group, operates from within the Media department but is not exclusively operated as a student concern.

Other UK University

  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • Aston University
  • Aberystwyth University
  • Cardiff University
  • Cranfield University
  • Coventry University
  • Central Lancashire University
  • De Montfort University
  • East London University
  • Bournemouth University
  • East Anglia University
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • Essex University
  • Glasgow University
  • Glasgow Caledonian University
  • University of Bolton
  • Glostershire University
  • Greenwich University
  • Brunel University
  • Huddersfield University
  • Bradford University
  • Hull University
  • Heriot-Watt University
  • University of Bedfordshire
  • Keele University
  • Leeds University
  • University of Manchester
  • Lincoln University
  • Liverpool Hope University
  • Liverpool John Mores University
  • Newcaste University
  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Plymouth University
  • Middlesex University
  • Portsmouth University
  • Queen’s University Belfast
  • Sheffield University
  • Sheffield Hallam University
  • Ulster University
  • Sussex University
  • University of West London
  • University of Westminster
  • Sunderland University
  • Salford University
  • Swansea University
  • St. George’s University of London
  • University of Strathclyde
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Buckingham
  • University of Dundee
  • Bangor University
  • Durham University


Choose your study destination

Upcoming events

Please contact us to know about any upcoming events.